Memorial University of NewfoundLand

About Memorial University

About Memorial University of NewfoundLand

Memorial University of Newfoundland (also known as MUN) is a public university and was established in 1925. It is located in St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada which is the oldest city in North America. MUN's students come from various locations around world and this university has a wide range of faculties, units, facilities, and services offered to its community.

MUN has four main campuses that are St. John's campus, Marine Institute, Grenfell campus, and Harlow campus (Essex, England). It offers a wide range of programs such as undergraduate degrees, graduate degrees, diplomas, and certificate programs. As well, MUN has six faculties that are Arts, Business Administration, Education, Engineering, Medicine, and Science and six Schools that are Graduate Studies, Music, Nursing, Pharmacy, Human Kinetics, Recreation, and Social Work.

MUN serves excellent facilities and services such as library, gym (The Works), swimming pool (Aquarena- The Works), childcare centre, health centre, residence, and many more. To get around the university conveniently and swiftly regardless the weather, MUN provides a tunnel system called MUNnel and also a few skywalks that interlink buildings.

MUN has an international reputation in various disciplines and also it has been featured in many world university rankings as one of the top 500 universities. According to the Maclean's magazine ranking of Canadian universities, Memorial University of Newfoundland has maintained its fifth place rank in the comprehensive university category. The full report can be obtained here at

The Governance

Memorial University of Newfoundland was founded in 1925 as Memorial University College. It was granted university status in 1949 when Newfoundland became a province of Canada. MUN is governed by its constitution which is itself part of an Act of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland.

  • Dr. Gary Kachanoski The President and Vice-Chancellor
    Dr. Gary Kachanoski
  • Dr. Evan Simpson Vice-President (Academic)
    Dr. Evan Simpson
  • Dr. Christopher Loomis Vice-President (Research)
    Dr. Christopher Loomis
  • Mr. Kent Decker Vice-President (Admin and Finance)
    Mr. Kent Decker